Police Department



 We want your opinion! As a part of our national accreditation process, we want you, the members of our community, to share your thoughts and comments about: our delivery of service, ways we can improve, and/or things we do well. Please help us by clicking on the following link and provide your comments directly to the Commission on Law Enforcement Accreditation, Inc. (CALEA): Accreditation Public Comment


The Norwalk Department of Police Services provides protective and support services to the City of Norwalk and its citizens. It contains eight divisions:

Department Oversight

The Board of Police Commissioners oversees the development and financial aspects of the Norwalk Department of Police Services. Members include City Mayor Harry Rilling, Commissioner Fran Collier-Clemmons and Commissioner Tony Lopez.
The department is headed by Police Chief James Walsh, Deputy Chief Joseph Dinho. Deputy Chief Melissa Lepore and Deputy Chief Terrence Blake. Access additional information about the Police Department's highest office.
 Accreditation Status
The Norwalk Department of Police Services has maintained Advanced Accreditation by the Commission on Law Enforcement Accreditation, Inc. (CALEA) as well as Tier III Accreditation by the Connecticut Police Officers Standards and Training Council.

Annual Report